Join us for a panel discussion with this year’s shortlisted authors, followed by the announcement of the winner of the 2022 Royal Society Science Book Prize, sponsored by Insight Investment.

This year’s shortlisted authors Henry Gee, Professor Rose Anne Kenny, Peter Stott, Frans de Waal, Nick Davidson, Jeremy Farrar and Anjana Ahuja, will join our host to discuss the unifying themes explored within their books and the integral role that science plays in society and our everyday lives.

The books championed by the Royal Society Science Book Prize embody compelling science communication and provide an opportunity for readers to engage more deeply with science in an uncertain world. The five-strong judging panel for 2022 is chaired by neuroscientist, Professor Maria Fitzgerald FRS. She is joined on the panel by representatives from across the worlds of science and culture: television presenter, Kate Humble; physicist and Royal Society University Research Fellow, Dr Josh McFayden; novelist, Mike Gayle, and journalist, writer and technology consultant, Rory Cellan-Jones.

Join the discussion at slido:

Watch previous book prize award ceremonies:

Hosted by Professor Brian Cox ▶

Hosted by Professor Alice Roberts ▶

StreamText offers a full page of captions and you can personalise the display adjusting the font, the font size and background. You can also open the link in a separate webpage, adjust the size of the page and place it at the top/bottom of the screen on which you are viewing the event if you would like to view the event and captions on one page. It needs to be opened/copied into a web browser on a phone, tablet or laptop.

The Royal Society is a Fellowship of many of the world’s most eminent scientists and is the oldest scientific academy in continuous existence.


Subscribe to our channel for exciting science videos and live events, many hosted by Brian Cox, our Professor for Public Engagement:

We’re also on Twitter ▶
Facebook ▶
Instagram ▶
And LinkedIn ▶